Positano’s Pizza. The Friday Night Bang Bang – The Maestro’s Take

You thought we were done, didn’t you? You thought that this was some fly-by-night 3 month doo dad that we started impulsively, that we were just going to abandon, didn’t you? Admit it!

Look, just because we haven’t been writing about pizza doesn’t mean we haven’t been consuming pizza and thinking about pizza. A lot of stuff has happened in the last few weeks, but we’ll get to that in a later post. Let’s start with the pizza.

Weekend before Thanksgiving, the doc and I wanted to try out a new gokarting place (MUCH more on that later) near Midway, and originally we were going to go to Villa Rosa Pizza but they were going through renovations. Maybe we’ll go tomorrow (hint hint, Doc) They still had pizza, but the place was under construction and we would’ve had to eat it in the doc’s SUV, and we usually want to go for the whole pizza restaurant experience. A quick look at google yelp and aol geocities revealed that the nearest good pizza place was Positano’s.

For those of you not in the know, Positano is an ugly little crap hole clinging to the side of the Amalfi coast in Italy, and you would never ever want to go there in your entire life.

 

Positano_Sunset

Seriously, who would want to live in this dump? on a warm summer night, horrible tepid breeze from the Tyrrhenian sea wafting through the hair of a boringly gorgeous Etruscan goddess? Barf!

So it was fitting that this place, like its namesake was a little hole in the wall dive. Now, that is not to say all hole in the wall dives are bad. Some of the best Chinese food I’ve ever had was in places that made you shocked the health department hadn’t shut them down.

And Positano’s was no exception. Boasting I think two tables and maybe 4 chairs total, the place was itty bitty. But the pizza was absolutely delicious.

They advertise as having “Thin-crust pizzas & other Italian comfort eats in a snug, laid-back setting.” You could not get more snug than this. The Doc and I snagged a table and two chairs and ordered. Since his pizza had an entire Amazon rain forest for toppings it was going to take a little while. I had a slice of cheese and a slice of pepperoni. Both were absolutely divine. That day, all I had eaten was a banana, and since I had lost a little weight recently, I was ready to pizza my way up to a snugger waist line. I remember absolutely nothing about the pizza, other than it hit every spot I had.

Learning the lessons of the Pequod outing, I opted not to have any deep dish fancy pants stuff. This was thin crust, but way thicker than the soft tortilla they have in New York. It was about as thick a thin crust as you could get before you could legitimately call it “Thick crust.” And if I’m being really honest, that’s what I want in a pizza. That’s what my favorite places from “Gioacchino’s” to “La villa” have. I want it nominally thin, but I want it to be puffy.

They also made their own in-house cannoli. Or at least they arranged them in-house. The shells were in a container, but the woman at the counter took time and really applied the ricotta beautifully and with care. Same with the pistachio (or as Bullwinkle would say “minthmathmnio”)

It was a little larger than your average cannoli, but nothing like the semi-automatic cannoli of Mike’s Pastry in the North End in Boston.

Since the doc was still waiting for his pizza, and it looked like it was going to take some time, I wanted another cannoli. But I couldn’t justify two cannoli right on top of each other. So I made a decision to do a Bang Bang, but in the same restaurant.

The second part of my Bang Bang consisted of a half Italian beef sandwich (I asked if I could have a mini sandwich, and they said no, so I just had them cut it in half, and only ate half), and another cannoli.

By the time I was white knuckling it through the second cannoli, the Doc’s bucolic pie came out.

And then we went gokart racing. Oh man, did we go gokart racing.

To Be Continued…

Comments are closed.